• Started by the British before the second world war to advise the Singapore Government on matters concerning the Sikh religion, customs and general welfare of the Sikh community. Comprising 5 members nominated by the Government, the SAB was chaired by the Chief Police Officer, an Englishman with proceedings conducted in Malay.
  • Re-constituted in 1948 with a Sikh, Master Sunder Singh Wasan elected as the Chairman. The SAB now had 12 members, 9 nominated by the then 5 gurdwaras and 3 nominated by the Government. The 5 gurdwaras were:
    1. Khalsa Dharmak Sabha
    2. Khalsa Jiwan Sudhar Sabha
    3. Pardesi Khalsa Dharmak Dewan
    4. Sri Guru Nanak Sat Sang Sabha
    5. Sri Guru Singh Sabha

Proceedings were conducted in Punjabi.

  • In 2003, the Government, at the request of the Sikh community, agreed to enlarge the SAB to include a member each from the Central Sikh Gurdwara Board and Gurdwara Sahib Yishun. The SAB now has 15 members, 11 from the 7 gurdwaras and 4 nominated by Government.